These years are usually named “perestroika” period. USSR's disintegration into independent states, economics conversion to market relations drastically changed the situation in oil industry.

Within first five years of “perestroika” crude oil output drastically dropped, theoretic research works were practically scaled down, design & survey works were mainly for rehabilitation of some oil field facilities, exploration and wells drilling was practically stopped.

Hardships of this period (1990-2000) did not bypass Giprovostokneft as well. Work scopes noticeably reduced, especially researches, staff gradually decreased.

But GIPVN withstood and saved its potential and basic manpower.

It was the great victory of the Institute people. Without doubt GIPVN management, its Director B. Usachev played the decisive role in the said. Due to his immense prestige among GIPVN people, links with oil producing companies and business partners GIPVN did not lose main clients; it has work and was able to pay salary practically without delay. 

Boris Usachev, 
Director  

Since latter half of 90th the situation began to recover step-by-step. Stagnation period in oil industry was going to the end. Significant changes appeared in GIPVN activities: emphasis moved to development of oil & gas products trunk pipelines, development of oil & gas bearing areas in East Siberia, Far East, north of European part, offshore fields.

In this period great support for GIPVN, which in principle settled its economic problems, was awarded contract for design engineering (together with foreign partners) of Caspian Pipeline System Tengiz – Novorossiysk. 

     

This Project was the school of engineering based on international standards and the work noticeably improved GIPVN reputation at design engineering market, including the foreign one.

Since 2000 till present day scope and range of design & survey and research works steadily increase. GIPVN with confidence gathers pace, plays active role at R & D market.

Эти годы принято называть периодом перестройки. Распад Советского Союза на независимые государства, переход экономики на рыночные отношения коренным образом изменил ситуацию в нефтяной промышленности.

В первое пятилетие перестройки резко снизился объём добычи нефти, были практически свёрнуты научно-исследовательские работы теоретического характера, проектно-изыскательские работы в основном свелись к реконструкции отдельных нефтепромысловых объектов, поисково-разведочные работы и бурение скважин были практически прекращены.

Трудности этого периода (1990-2000гг.) не обошли стороной и институт «Гипровостокнефть». Существенно сократились объёмы работ, особенно научно-исследовательской части, постепенно сокращалась численность работников.

Но институт выстоял, сохранил свой потенциал, основные кадры.

И это было большой победой коллектива института. И, несомненно, решающую роль в этом сыграло руководство института, его директор Б.П. Усачёв. Благодаря его огромному авторитету у коллектива, сохранившимся связям с нефтедобывающими предприятиями и деловыми партнёрами, институт не растерял своих основных заказчиков, был обеспечен работой, позволяющей практически своевременно выплачивать заработную плату.

Директор Б.П. Усачёв

Со второй половины 90х-годов ситуация начала постепенно выправляться. Заканчивался период стагнации в нефтяной промышленности. В деятельности института появились знаковые перемены: акцент сдвигался в сторону развития систем магистральных нефтегазопродуктопроводов, освоения нефтегазоносных районов Восточной Сибири, Дальнего Востока, севера Европейской части, шельфовых месторождений.

Большим подспорьем для института в этот период, кардинально решившим его экономические проблемы, было получение заказа на выполнение совместно с иностранными партнёрами проектных работ по Каспийской трубопроводной системе «Тенгиз – Новороссийск».

     

Этот проект явился школой проектирования на базе международных стандартов, а работа существенно подняла авторитет института на рынке проектной продукции, в том числе и зарубежном.

Начиная с 2000 года и по настоящее время объём и номенклатура проектно-изыскательских и научно-исследовательских работ неуклонно растут. Институт уверенно набирает темпы, играет активную роль на рынке научно-технической продукции.